Topic: '67 beetle turn signals not working

So, first off, I should mention that I am a newbie in the VW maintenance world, so please excuse any stupid questions...  smile

I have been attempting to trace down the problem with these turn signals, and here is what I have learned so far:

- the hazards work fine, so I would assume at least that the bulbs & wiring to the bulbs are fine.
- I cleaned all the contacts of fuses, fuse holders, and all ground wires that I could find (one on steering wheel, one attached to rear of speedo)
- from reading the forums, I guess I might have a "9 pin box" problem?   but the weird thing is that the "box" is actually what looks like an aftermarket conversion, with a piece of lexan and two smaller boxes (relays?) attached to it.  I am linking to pictures below.
- when I turn on hazards, I can feel the top (blue) box clicking, but the bottom box doesn't ever click, even when activating the turn signals
- most wire colors are correct, but several have been changed (blue-green is actually blue, etc, etc);  I havn't traced all wire connections, since I was expecting one box for all these wires to connect to, not this funky thing that's actually there... 

so,  I am stumped on where to go from here.  I feel like it is possible that one of the two boxes (relays?) is bad, my guess would be the black one.  Before I go replacing parts on a vehicle that I am completely new to, I'd love to get some advice...  any help?

pics:  http://bourguignon.org/VW.html

cheers!

-joe

Re: '67 beetle turn signals not working

I had a weird issue with my '68 Bug where the turn signals worked, but they wouldn't come on with the headlights... I went to my local auto-parts store and bought all new bus fuses and replaced them all. I figured that for $5.00 it was worth the attempt.

It worked...

Just a thought, and you never said whether or not you looked at those as a possible cause yet.

Eric - '68 "Herbie" 1835cc (O\(53)/O)